Chesterfield County Museum and Historical Jail
will remain CLOSED except for the
following programs listed below.
6813 Mimms Loop Chesterfield, VA 23832
At this time the County Museum and Historical Jail remain close for tours
but will be open for the following programs below. All programs are free but reservations are required. Space is limited and social distancing guidelines will be in effect.
To reserve a seat call Bryan Truzzie, 751-4946. All programs start at, 11 a.m.
November 14th - Apples to Appleseed: How Cider and John Chapman Shaped the Early Frontier -
THIS EVENT HAS BEEN CANCELED.
This lecture will explore a brief history of the apple and apple cider, and dive into the history behind Johnny Appleseed. Attendees will learn about the origins of the apple, its unique contribution to English North American culture and development, and how Johnny Appleseed (John Chapman) sprouted from his roots in a modest New England family to grow into one of the greatest legends our country has ever known.
THE COUNTY MUSEUM
The Chesterfield Museum is a brick reproduction of the colonial courthouse of 1749. It sits on a tract of land that was known in the 18th Century as "Coldwater Run". The County was a rural community and the Courthouse of 1749 was not only a social gathering spot, it was a political nexus. Speeches, horse trading, games, drinking, and fistfights were standard events of each court day. The old courthouse stood until 1917 when it was razed for a new "courthouse" Preservationists could not save the building. The courthouse-museum complex was a project conceived by The Bermuda Ruritan Club and later a total of ten other Ruitan Clubs were involved in the project. Thanks to these Ruritans, the Museum was built in 1977 and officially dedicated on July 4, 1980.
THE OLD 1892 JAIL
The 1892 jail, now commonly referred to as "the Old Jail", could hold up to 24 prisoners whose meals were prepared by the sheriff and his family. The building was seldom used in the 20th century until 1936, when crime became an issue in the county. Eventually the building became home for the Chesterfield County Police Department and, later, the Fire Department. It was designated a museum in 1982. The Old Jail is open for tours which begin at the County Museum next door.